What we know
| Point | Status | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Visa-free entry is up to 30 days for 60 countries and territories, for tourism | Confirmed | MFA, London, Washington DC |
| Effective 15 September 2026 | Confirmed | London, Moscow |
| People admitted before 15 September keep their granted stay | Confirmed | Moscow |
| One extension of up to 30 days, at the officer's discretion | Confirmed | Washington DC, London |
| A TR gives up to 60 days, then up to 90 days from entry with an extension | Confirmed | Washington DC |
| Visa-exempt entry is limited to two entries per calendar year, by land or by air | Confirmed | London |
| An exception at land borders for Malaysia, Brunei, Indonesia and Singapore | Not confirmed | See the list at the end |

What changed on 15 September 2026
The Ministry of Interior published new rules in the Royal Gazette on 31 August 2026. They took effect on 15 September 2026.
- The 60-day visa exemption for 93 countries and territories ended.
- 60 countries and territories now get up to 30 days, for tourism only.
- Anyone admitted before 15 September keeps the stay granted at entry. The Moscow embassy page says they "may remain in Thailand until the expiry of the period of stay granted to them".
Check the stamp in your passport. The date written there is the date that counts.
Your three routes past 30 days
| Route | Days | Where you apply | When |
|---|---|---|---|
| Visa-free entry plus extension | 30 + up to 30 | Immigration office in Thailand | Before the 30-day stamp ends |
| Tourist visa (TR) | up to 60, then +30 if extended | thaievisa.go.th, before you fly | Before travel |
| Multiple-entry tourist visa (METV) | up to 60 per entry | thaievisa.go.th, before you fly | Before travel |
Route 1: visa-free, then extend
Visa-free stays under the 30-day scheme can be extended by up to 30 days. Washington and London both say so. Washington says the extension is solely at the discretion of the immigration officer.
Go to an immigration office in Thailand before your 30-day stamp ends. Bring your passport with the arrival stamp, and ask the office which form, photo and fee it needs.
This route has two risks. The extension is not automatic. Also, the total is about 60 days.
Route 2: apply for the TR first
The TR gives up to 60 days from your entry date. The Chicago consulate tells US citizens who want more than 30 days to apply at thaievisa.go.th and states a fee of USD 40. The Washington embassy states the same fee, a 3-month validity, and a possible 30-day extension for up to 90 days from entry.
Fees differ by embassy. See the fee table in the tourist visa 2026 guide.
Plan the time. Washington advises applying at least 30 days before travel and no more than 90 days ahead. Los Angeles states 15 business days at minimum. Moscow advises at least 14 business days.
Route 3: METV for repeated trips
If you will leave Thailand and return within six months, the METV can fit better than repeated visa-free entries.
The entry limit: what the sources say
The London embassy page says eligible passport holders may enter under the visa exemption scheme "only twice within a calendar year". It adds that people who need more visits should apply for a suitable visa. The page names no route, so count entries by land and by air together.
The Tourism Authority of Thailand (TAT) page describes the same limit at land-border checkpoints. It states that the Ministry of Interior announcements appeared in the Royal Gazette on 31 August 2026. Citizens of Malaysia, Brunei, Indonesia and Singapore have had an exception from this limit at land borders; check with your Thai embassy before you rely on it.
| Question | Safe reading |
|---|---|
| Land border, visa-free | Counts toward the limit of two entries per calendar year (London) |
| Air, visa-free | Counts toward the same limit of two entries per calendar year (London) |
| Malaysia, Brunei, Indonesia, Singapore passports | Have had an exception at land borders (TAT). Check with your Thai embassy |
| Does the count restart on 15 Sep 2026? | Not stated on pages read |
Do not plan a chain of border runs. Repeated visa-free entries are a poor base for a long stay. For long trips, choose a visa that matches your plan.
What if you overstay
Overstay is penalised. Do not risk an overstay to save a fee. Apply for the extension or leave before your stamp ends.
A quick decision table
| Your plan | Likely fit |
|---|---|
| 1 to 30 days | Visa-free, if your passport is on the 60-country list |
| 31 to 60 days | TR, or visa-free plus extension |
| Several trips in 6 months | METV |
| 60+ days of work or study | Another visa category |
Which list is your passport on? Use the nationality guides on this site and the Thai embassy for your country. Washington also says to carry funds of 20,000 baht per person (40,000 baht per family) for the exemption.
Before you travel
- Check that your passport is on the 30-day list.
- Check the date in your entry stamp, not only the rule.
- For more than 30 days, choose: TR before you fly, or an extension in Thailand.
- For repeated trips, count your visa-free entries this calendar year, by land and by air.
- Keep proof of funds: Washington says 20,000 baht per person or 40,000 baht per family.
If you choose the TR, our tourist visa pre-check can read your documents before you submit on thaievisa.go.th. We do not apply for you, and we do not decide the result.
Not confirmed yet
No official page we read states these points. Ask your embassy before you pay or submit.
- Whether citizens of Malaysia, Brunei, Indonesia and Singapore still have an exception from the limit at land borders.
- Whether entries before 15 September 2026 count toward the limit.
- The extension fee and form. Other sites quote 1,900 baht with form TM.7 and a 4 x 6 cm photo.
- The overstay fine. Other sites quote 500 baht per day, up to 20,000 baht.
Frequently asked questions
How long can I stay in Thailand visa-free from 15 September 2026?
Up to 30 days for 60 countries and territories, for tourism only.
Can I extend the 30-day visa-free stay?
Yes, by up to 30 days at an immigration office in Thailand. Washington says it is solely at the officer's discretion.
I entered before 15 September with 60 days. Do I lose them?
No. Moscow says people admitted before 15 September may stay until the end of the period granted to them.
How many times can I enter visa-free?
Visa-exempt entry is limited to two entries per calendar year, by land or by air. London says "only twice within a calendar year". To visit more often, apply for a suitable visa.
Is a tourist visa better than visa-free plus an extension?
A TR gives up to 60 days from entry and can be extended to 90 days. Visa-free plus an extension gives about 60 days, and the extension is not automatic.
Sources
- london.thaiembassy.org/en/page/visa-general-information (read 23 Oct 2026)London visa general information: visa-exempt entry "only twice within a calendar year"; more visits need an appropriate visa; e-Visa processing "approximately 15 working days"; apply "at least 6-8 weeks before their departure"
- london.thaiembassy.org/en/content/revision-of-thailand-s-visa-0926 (read 22 Oct 2026)Effective 15 Sep 2026; up to 30 days for tourism; eligible passport holders may enter under the exemption only twice within a calendar year (no land or air wording on this page); apply for a suitable visa for more frequent visits; may request an extension of up to 30 days from the Immigration Bureau; page entered 8 Sep 2026
- moscow.thaiembassy.org/en/publicservice/revision-of-thailand-s-visa-exemption-and-visa-on-arrival-schemes (read 22 Oct 2026)60-day exemption for all 93 countries ended; persons admitted before 15 Sep 2026 may remain until their granted period expires; e-Visa should be requested at least 14 business days ahead; information as of 31 Aug 2026
- newdelhi.thaiembassy.org/en/content/the-revision-of-thailand-s-visa-exemption-and-voa (read 22 Oct 2026)30-day exemption for Indian passports effective 15 Sep 2026; page updated 15 Sep 2026
- cgchicago.thaiembassy.org/th/content/thailand-visa-exemption-stay (read 22 Oct 2026)US citizens staying over 30 days apply for tourist visa at thaievisa.go.th, USD 40, up to 60 days; updated 17 Sep 2026
- tatnews.org/2026/09/thailand-introduces-new-30-day-and-15-day-visa-exemption-rules-from-15-september/ (read 22 Oct 2026)Tourism Authority of Thailand news: Ministry of Interior announcements published in the Royal Gazette on 31 Aug 2026; for land-border checkpoints, the 30-day exemption may generally be used no more than twice per calendar year; Malaysia, Brunei, Indonesia and Singapore excepted; the page does not state a cap for air arrivals
- washingtondc.thaiembassy.org/en/page/trsingle-entry (read 22 Oct 2026)Tourist visa 60 days, +30 days extension, maximum 90 days from entry; USD 40
- mfa.go.th/en/publicservice/5d5bcc2615e39c306000a316 (read 22 Oct 2026)Extensions are at the Immigration Bureau at the officer's discretion (page last updated 30 Nov 2022; fee on that page is out of date)
- washingtondc.thaiembassy.org/en/page/visaexempt-voajul2024 (read 22 Oct 2026)Washington: 30-day exemption for 60 countries from 15 Sep 2026; extension for a period not exceeding 30 days is solely at the discretion of the immigration officer; carry funds of 20,000 THB per person or 40,000 THB per family; page updated 17 Sep 2026
- london.thaiembassy.org/en/page/exemp-visa (read 22 Oct 2026)London: 30-day exemption, may request an extension of up to 30 days through the Immigration Bureau, only twice within a calendar year; no update date shown
Reviewed by the Thai Visa Pre-Check team
We check documents; we are not a law firm and not the Thai government. We read each embassy page named in the sources on the date shown.
We sell a document check. We do not apply for you, and only the embassy decides your visa.
- Last checked
- First published
What changed
- entry limit corrected. The London embassy confirms two visa-exempt entries per calendar year, by land or by air. The land-border exception for Malaysia, Brunei, Indonesia and Singapore is still being checked.
- first published. Added a "What we know" table at the top, a checklist and five questions. The extension fee and overstay figures moved into this list. This page will change as Thailand publishes more detail.
Found an error? Write to support@tdac.info.
