The single-entry visa is called TR. The multiple-entry visa is called METV.
Since 15 September 2026, most visitors from 60 countries get only 30 days visa-free. If you want 60 days, you can apply for a TR before you fly. Another option is one 30-day extension in Thailand, at the officer's discretion. You apply for the TR online at thaievisa.go.th. You pay the embassy fee and upload your documents there.
TR and METV at a glance
| TR (single entry) | METV (multiple entry) | |
|---|---|---|
| Entries | One | Several during validity |
| Stay per entry | Up to 60 days | Up to 60 days |
| Visa validity | 3 months from issue | 6 months from issue |
| Extension | One, up to 30 days, in Thailand | One per entry, up to 30 days (see below) |
| Typical bank evidence | Last 3 months | Last 3 to 6 months, higher amount |
| Where to apply | thaievisa.go.th, embassy of your country of residence | Same, with a residence rule at some posts |
Sources: Washington, Moscow, Singapore and New Delhi pages above. The "3 months" and "6 months" validity is the window in which you must enter Thailand. It is not the length of your stay.
Fees depend on the embassy
There is no single worldwide fee. Each embassy sets its own fee in local currency. These are the figures stated on official embassy pages that we could read.
| Embassy | TR | METV | Page date |
|---|---|---|---|
| Washington, DC | USD 40 | USD 200 | 27 Aug 2026 |
| Moscow[3] | USD 40 | USD 200 | 12 Sep 2026 |
| New Delhi[8] | INR 3,000 | INR 13,500 | 16 Sep 2026 |
| Singapore[4] | SGD 50 | SGD 250 | 18 Mar 2025 |
| Helsinki[5] | EUR 40 | EUR 170 | 7 Nov 2023 |
| Pretoria[6] | ZAR 650 | ZAR 3,100 | no date |
| Canberra[7] | not stated on page | not stated on page | no date |
| London | not stated on pages read | not stated on pages read | 4 Apr 2024 |
Treat any page dated before October 2025 as a starting point only. Confirm the fee on thaievisa.go.th for your embassy before you pay. Washington says the application fee is non-refundable.
One Thai Ministry of Foreign Affairs page still shows "1,000 baht per entry". That page was last updated on 30 Nov 2022. Do not use it.
Which embassy do you apply to?
You choose your current location in the e-Visa form. Each embassy serves its own area. The Los Angeles consulate says it may refuse applications from outside its area. The Canberra embassy lists the Australian states and territories it serves. Check the page of the embassy that covers where you live.
Documents you need
Lists differ a little by embassy. The common core is:
- A passport valid for at least 6 months, with blank pages. Helsinki asks for 12 months and two empty pages for METV.
- A recent photo, taken in the last 6 months.
- A flight booking into and out of Thailand, with your name and dates.
- Proof of where you stay: hotel booking, or an invitation letter and house registration from a Thai host.
- A bank statement for the last 3 months (more for METV).
- Proof of where you live, if you are not a citizen of the country where you apply. Washington asks non-citizens for a green card or valid US visa plus an employment letter.
Read each document in detail in tourist visa documents.
How much money do embassies ask to see?
Amounts vary a lot. They are the biggest difference between embassies.
| Embassy | TR | METV |
|---|---|---|
| Washington, DC | USD 700 each month per person, or USD 2,000 per family (3 months). One rule is stated for the tourist visa; no separate METV amount | same rule on the page |
| Los Angeles[2] | USD 700 per person, or USD 1,500 per family | USD 2,000 each month (3 months) |
| Moscow[3] | closing balance not below THB 20,000 (about USD 700) | USD 2,000 each month, 3 months |
| Singapore[4] | SGD 800 (3 months) | SGD 8,000 (6 months) |
| Helsinki[5] | enough for the stay | EUR 6,000 per person (6 months) |
| Pretoria[6] | ZAR 11,000 per person, or ZAR 22,000 per family | ZAR 110,000 per person, or ZAR 220,000 per family (6 months) |
| Canberra[7] | not read | THB 200,000 or equivalent (6 months) |
| Tehran | not read | THB 20,000 or more (3 months) |
| MFA general checklist (Dec 2023) | THB 30,000 per person or THB 50,000 per family | not covered |
The MFA general checklist is dated December 2023, more than 12 months old. Use it only as a starting point.
Extension: +30 days
A tourist stay can be extended once by up to 30 days at an immigration office in Thailand. Washington says the total can reach 90 days from your entry date. Washington and London both say the immigration officer decides. Confirm the fee and the form at the immigration office, and apply before your stamp ends.
Processing time
Official pages give different times. Washington asks you to apply at least 30 days before departure, and no more than 90 days. Los Angeles says a minimum of 15 business days. Canberra says 10 business days, up to 4 to 6 weeks in some cases. If an embassy asks for more documents, Washington says the visa status updates within 3 to 5 business days after you upload them.
TR or visa-free or DTV?
- Staying 30 days or less and your passport is on the list of 60: visa-free may be enough. See after the 30-day change.
- Staying up to 60 days on one trip: apply for the TR.
- Several trips in six months: look at the METV.
- Working remotely or studying for long: the DTV is a different visa. See DTV vs tourist visa.
Before you apply
- You apply to the embassy that covers where you live.
- Your passport has at least 6 months of validity and blank pages.
- Your bank statement meets your embassy's figure for the months it names.
- Flights and bookings show your name and matching dates.
- You checked the fee for your embassy on thaievisa.go.th.
Officers may reject an application without giving reasons, and the fee is not returned (Washington; Helsinki also states no refund). Our tourist visa pre-check reads your documents against the embassy list before you submit. You still apply and pay on thaievisa.go.th yourself.
Not confirmed yet
No official page we read states these points. Ask your embassy before you pay or submit.
- The extension fee and form. Other sites quote 1,900 baht with form TM.7; no Thai government page we read states it.
- The tourist visa fee at Canberra and London.
- The MFA general checklist figures (THB 30,000 per person, THB 50,000 per family), dated December 2023.
Frequently asked questions
How long can I stay on a Thai tourist visa?
Up to 60 days per entry. Washington says one extension can bring the total to 90 days from entry, at the officer's discretion.
How much is a Thai tourist visa?
Each embassy sets its own fee. Washington DC and Moscow charge USD 40 for the TR and USD 200 for the METV. New Delhi charges INR 3,000 and INR 13,500.
How much money do I need in my bank account?
It depends on the post. Washington DC asks for USD 700 each month per person over 3 months. Moscow asks for a closing balance of at least THB 20,000 for the TR.
How early should I apply?
Washington asks you to apply at least 30 days before departure and no more than 90 days ahead. Los Angeles says at least 15 business days.
Do I still need a tourist visa after the 30-day change?
For a stay of up to 30 days, visa-free entry may be enough if your passport is on the list. For up to 60 days, apply for the TR.
What is the difference between the TR and the METV?
The TR allows one entry within 3 months. The METV allows several entries within 6 months, with up to 60 days per entry.
Sources
- washingtondc.thaiembassy.org/en/page/trsingle-entry (read 22 Oct 2026)Washington: TR USD 40 (3 months), METV USD 200 (6 months), 60 days, +30 days extension (max 90 days from entry), one 3-month bank statement rule USD 700/month per person or USD 2,000 per family, apply 30 to 90 days before departure, non-refundable fee; page updated 27 Aug 2026
- thaiconsulatela.thaiembassy.org/en/publicservice/tourist-visa-metv-multiple-entries (read 22 Oct 2026)Los Angeles: METV USD 200, 3-month statement USD 2,000 each month, min 15 business days; page updated 9 Oct 2023
- moscow.thaiembassy.org/en/publicservice/83954-2-tourist-visa (read 22 Oct 2026)Moscow: TR USD 40, METV USD 200, 60 days, TR balance 20,000 THB, METV USD 2,000 for 3 months; page updated 12 Sep 2026
- singapore.thaiembassy.org/en/page/tourist-visa (read 22 Oct 2026)Singapore: SGD 50 / SGD 250, balance SGD 800 (3 months) / SGD 8,000 (6 months); page updated 18 Mar 2025
- helsinki.thaiembassy.org/en/publicservice/tourist-visa-tr-metv (read 22 Oct 2026)Helsinki: EUR 40 / EUR 170, METV EUR 6,000 for 6 months; page updated 7 Nov 2023
- pretoria.thaiembassy.org/en/page/29707-tourist-visa (read 22 Oct 2026)Pretoria: ZAR 650 / ZAR 3,100, ZAR 11,000 / ZAR 110,000; no page date
- canberra.thaiembassy.org/en/content/visa (read 22 Oct 2026)Canberra: METV needs 6-month statement with THB 200,000 or equivalent; e-Visa processing 10 business days, up to 4-6 weeks; no fee stated on this page
- newdelhi.thaiembassy.org/en/page/visa (read 22 Oct 2026)New Delhi: TR INR 3,000, METV INR 13,500 (6 months), 60 days; e-Visa mandatory since 1 Jan 2025; page updated 16 Sep 2026
- cgchicago.thaiembassy.org/th/content/thailand-visa-exemption-stay (read 22 Oct 2026)Chicago: US citizens staying more than 30 days apply for a tourist visa at thaievisa.go.th; USD 40, up to 60 days; updated 17 Sep 2026
- image.mfa.go.th/mfa/0/n3gTFT2TOE/Visa_Requirements/Visa_2024/Checklist_of_Tourist_Visa_for_General_Contries.pdf (read 22 Oct 2026)MFA general checklist (file dated Dec 2023): THB 30,000 per person or THB 50,000 per family; older than 12 months, not confirmed
- thaievisa.go.th/static/English-Manual.pdf (read 22 Oct 2026)e-Visa manual; not relied on for any claim in this page
- london.thaiembassy.org/en/content/revision-of-thailand-s-visa-0926 (read 22 Oct 2026)30-day exemption from 15 Sep 2026; those needing more should apply for a suitable visa
- washingtondc.thaiembassy.org/en/page/visaexempt-voajul2024 (read 22 Oct 2026)Washington: 30-day exemption for 60 countries from 15 Sep 2026; extension of up to 30 days is solely at the discretion of the immigration officer; page updated 17 Sep 2026
Reviewed by the Thai Visa Pre-Check team
We check documents; we are not a law firm and not the Thai government. We read each embassy page named in the sources on the date shown.
We sell a document check. We do not apply for you, and only the embassy decides your visa.
- Last checked
- First published
What changed
- first published. Retitled to the "tourist visa requirements" question. This page now holds the one fee table and the one funds table for the tourist visa; other pages link here. The extension fee moved into this list.
Found an error? Write to support@tdac.info.
