This hub holds the rules that apply to every country. The 13 country guides below explain how to order each national certificate.
What this section covers
- Who needs a certificate, and which country should issue it.
- The age limit at each Thai post we read, and a safe rule where a post says nothing.
- Translation, apostille and legalisation.
- A country picker with the issuer, its fee and time, and the rule at the Thai post.
Who needs one
All DTV applicants, in all three categories. London lists the certificate for spouses and children too. Washington DC allows children under 16 to use the main sponsor's FBI certificate. Fukuoka accepts a letter from the issuing authority if a certificate cannot be issued because of an age limit.
Which country issues it
The rule names one of two countries: your country of nationality, or the country where you apply, where you are a permanent resident. Osaka, Munich and Fukuoka word it this way. Vientiane names Laos or your country of nationality. Oslo names the Norwegian or Icelandic police.
Madrid adds one point. Its page says the embassy may ask for certificates from other countries where you lived. If you moved recently, have the certificate from your earlier country ready, or ask your post.
How recent it must be
There is no single age limit. The central announcement of 28 August 2026 sets none. Each post decides, and many say nothing.
| Embassy | Maximum age | Certificate named |
|---|---|---|
| Washington DC | 3 months | FBI certificate |
| Los Angeles[6] | 3 months | FBI criminal certificate |
| Paris[7] | 3 months | Casier judiciaire |
| Munich[8] | 3 months | Certificate from nationality or application country |
| London | 6 months from submission | For example ACRO or Irish police certificate |
| Madrid, Rome, Vientiane, Oslo, Fukuoka, Osaka, Moscow | Not stated on the pages we read | National certificate |
The safe rule: if your post states no age, submit within 3 months of the issue date. That meets the strictest limit we found. Order the certificate last, after your funds and residence proof are ready.
Translation
Washington DC asks for a certified English translation, notarised by an embassy or ministry, for documents issued outside the US and Thailand. Ho Chi Minh City accepts documents in Thai or English, and asks for a translation of anything else. Many national certificates come only in the local language. Plan a certified English translation unless the certificate has an English version or your post confirms it does not need one.
Apostille and legalisation
Thailand deposited its accession to the Hague Apostille Convention on 30 June 2026. The Convention enters into force for Thailand on 28 February 2027 (HCCH). Until then, an apostille from your country may not be enough for use in Thailand.
No DTV page we read asks for an apostille or for a Thai legalisation of the police certificate. Ask your embassy before you pay for either. This page will be checked again when the Convention takes effect on 28 February 2027.
Country guides
| Country | Issuer | Issuer fee | Issuer time | Rule at the Thai post | Guide |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| United States | FBI (Identity History Summary) | See guide | See guide | 3 months at Washington DC and Los Angeles; New York accepts a State or FBI check | United States |
| United Kingdom | ACRO | See guide | See guide | 6 months at London | United Kingdom |
| Australia | Australian Federal Police | AUD 57; AUD 114 with fingerprints | Most within 48 hours | Not stated at Canberra or Sydney | Australia |
| Canada | RCMP | CAD 25 plus fingerprinting | 3 to 120 business days | Not stated at Ottawa | Canada |
| Germany | Bundesamt für Justiz | EUR 13 | See guide | 3 months at Munich | Germany |
| France | Casier judiciaire national | Free | 1 to 24 hours online | 3 months at Paris | France |
| Netherlands | Justis (VOG) | EUR 41.35 | Usually 1 to 4 weeks | Not stated at The Hague | Netherlands |
| Poland | Krajowy Rejestr Karny | PLN 30 paper; PLN 20 online | Usually on the spot | Not stated at Warsaw | Poland |
| India | Passport Seva (PCC) | See guide | See guide | Not stated at New Delhi | India |
| Russia | MVD | See guide | See guide | Not stated at Moscow | Russia |
| Sweden | Polisen | SEK 255 plus postage | Up to two weeks | Not stated at Stockholm | Sweden |
| Italy | Casellario giudiziale | See guide | See guide | Not stated at Rome | Italy |
| Spain | Ministerio de Justicia | See guide | Usually 24 hours | Not stated at Madrid | Spain |
"See guide" means the figure needs a note that does not fit in the table.
Common mistakes
- Ordering too early: the certificate ages out while you collect bank statements.
- A state or local police check where the post names the national one. Washington DC names the FBI certificate.
- A certificate from a third country where you are neither a citizen nor a permanent resident.
- No translation of a certificate in another language.
- Paying for an apostille that no page asks for.
- Hiding a past conviction. Disclose it. False information or documents can lead to refusal.
Before you apply
- The certificate comes from your country of nationality or from the country where you apply.
- It is within your post's age limit on the day you submit, or within 3 months if the post states none.
- It is the national certificate, not a local or state check, unless your post names one.
- It has a certified English translation if your post asks for one.
- You asked your post before you paid for an apostille or a legalisation.
Check your certificate's date and issuer with the DTV pre-check. The embassy makes the decision.
Not confirmed yet
No official page we read states these points. Ask your embassy before you pay or submit.
- Whether posts other than Madrid ask for certificates from other countries where you lived.
- Whether any post asks for an apostille or legalisation, and how posts treat an apostille before 28 February 2027.
- Whether children under 16 can use a parent's certificate at posts other than Washington DC.
- Whether a police certificate is needed to extend a DTV stay at Thai immigration.
Frequently asked questions
Does every DTV applicant need a police certificate?
Yes, since 31 August 2026, in all three categories. Washington DC lets children under 16 use the main sponsor's FBI certificate, and Fukuoka accepts a letter if an age limit stops the issue.
How old can the certificate be?
It depends on the post: 3 months at Washington DC, Los Angeles, Paris and Munich, and 6 months at London. Several posts state no limit. Then submit within 3 months to be safe.
Which country should issue my certificate?
Your country of nationality or the country where you apply. Madrid says it may also ask for certificates from other countries where you lived.
Do I need an apostille?
No DTV page we read asks for one. Thailand joins the Apostille Convention on 28 February 2027. Ask your post before you pay.
Does the certificate need a translation?
Washington DC asks for a certified English translation of documents issued outside the US and Thailand. Plan one for any certificate that is not in English.
Do children need a certificate?
London lists it for spouses and children. Washington DC lets children under 16 use the main sponsor's FBI certificate.
Sources
- moscow.thaiembassy.org/en/publicservice/adjustment-to-supporting-documents-for-destination-thailand-visa-dtv-a (read 22 Oct 2026)certificate of criminal record clearance required from 31 Aug 2026 (DCA announcement 28 Aug 2026); no age limit in the announcement
- osaka.thaiembassy.org/en/content/announcement-updated-requirements-dtv (read 22 Oct 2026)issued by the country/territory of nationality or permanent residence; no age limit stated
- london.thaiembassy.org/en/content/adjustment-of-supporting-docdtv (read 22 Oct 2026)issued within 6 months from the date of submission; e.g. ACRO or Irish police certificate
- london.thaiembassy.org/en/page/destination-thailand-visa (read 22 Oct 2026)police clearance certificate (6 months old) listed for DTV1, DTV2 and DTV3
- washingtondc.thaiembassy.org/en/page/dtv-visa (read 22 Oct 2026)FBI certificate issued within 3 months; minors under 16 may use the main sponsor's FBI certificate; documents issued outside the US and Thailand need certified English translation notarised by an embassy or ministry; page dated 10 Sep 2026
- thaiconsulatela.thaiembassy.org/en/page/visa-information (read 22 Oct 2026)Los Angeles: FBI criminal certificate issued within 3 months; page dated 31 Aug 2026
- thaiembassy.fr/fr/visa-rdv/les-types-de-visa-et-les-documents-necessaires/dtv/ (read 22 Oct 2026)Paris: casier judiciaire less than 3 months old
- munich.thaiembassy.org/de/page/dtv2 (read 22 Oct 2026)Munich: certificate from nationality country or country of application, not older than 3 months
- madrid.thaiembassy.org/en/publicservice/dtv (read 22 Oct 2026)Madrid (page updated 22 Sep 2026): certificate issued by the authorities of the country of nationality or Spain/Andorra; the embassy may ask for certificates from other countries of residence; no age stated
- rome.thaiembassy.org/en/content/adjustment-of-supporting-documents-for-dtv-applica (read 22 Oct 2026)Rome: criminal record certificate certifying absence of criminal record; no age stated
- vientiane.thaiembassy.org/en/publicservice/applying-for-a-visa (read 22 Oct 2026)Vientiane: certificate from Lao authorities or country of nationality; no age stated
- oslo.thaiembassy.org/en/page/dtv (read 22 Oct 2026)Oslo: certificate from Norwegian or Icelandic police; no age stated
- fukuoka.thaiembassy.org/en/page/endtvvisa (read 22 Oct 2026)Fukuoka: certificate from country of nationality or permanent residence; letter from issuing authority accepted if the certificate cannot be issued because of an age limit; no age stated
- hochiminh.thaiembassy.org/en/page/destination-thailand-visa-dtv-th%E1%BB%8B-th%E1%BB%B1c-%C4%91i%E1%BB%83m-%C4%91%E1%BA%BFn-th (read 22 Oct 2026)Ho Chi Minh City: documents in Thai or English, otherwise translated
- hcch.net/en/news-archive/details/ (read 22 Oct 2026)Thailand deposited its instrument of accession to the Apostille Convention on 30 Jun 2026; entry into force for Thailand 28 Feb 2027
- afp.gov.au/our-services/national-police-checks (read 22 Oct 2026)AFP National Police Certificate AUD 57; AUD 114 with fingerprints; most completed within 48 hours
- rcmp.ca/en/criminal-records/criminal-record-checks/processing-times-and-fees (read 22 Oct 2026)RCMP federal fee CAD 25; 3 business days or less with no match; up to 120 business days with a possible match
- bundesjustizamt.de/EN/Topics/FederalCentralCriminalRegister/CertificateofConduct/CertificateofConduct_node.html (read 22 Oct 2026)German certificate of conduct EUR 13.00
- service-public.gouv.fr/particuliers/vosdroits/F1420 (read 22 Oct 2026)French bulletin n°3 free; 1 to 24 hours online with FranceConnect
- justis.nl/producten/verklaring-omtrent-het-gedrag-vog/ik-heb-een-vog-nodig (read 22 Oct 2026)Dutch VOG EUR 41.35 via the municipality; usually 1 to 4 weeks
- gov.pl/web/krk-en/pytania-i-odpowiedzi (read 22 Oct 2026)Polish KRK certificate PLN 30 paper, PLN 20 electronic; usually issued on the spot
- polisen.se/tjanster-tillstand/belastningsregistret/anvanda-registerutdraget-utomlands/ (read 22 Oct 2026)Swedish extract for use abroad SEK 255 plus postage; up to two weeks
- sede.mjusticia.gob.es/tramites/certificado-antecedentes (read 22 Oct 2026)Spanish certificate usually available after 24 hours, in general not over 3 working days
Reviewed by the Thai Visa Pre-Check team
We check documents; we are not a law firm and not the Thai government. We read each embassy page named in the sources on the date shown.
We sell a document check. We do not apply for you, and only the embassy decides your visa.
- Last checked
- First published
What changed
- first published. Merged the DTV police clearance overview into this hub. Added the country picker with issuer fees and times, the Madrid rule on other countries, and one canonical apostille section.
Found an error? Write to support@tdac.info.
