Skip to content
Thai Visa Pre-CheckDocuments checked before you apply
Start check

Police clearance guide

Antecedentes penales for the Thailand DTV

The Royal Thai Embassy in Madrid takes DTV applications only from Spanish or Andorran nationals or permanent residents. It asks for a criminal record certificate from your country of nationality, or from Spain or Andorra where you live, and Spain issues its certificate online, usually within 24 hours.

Checked on · Reviewed by the Thai Visa Pre-Check team · How we check

Longtail boats on Ao Nang Beach in Krabi below a limestone cliff
Longtail boats on the shore at Ao Nang under a limestone headland. Photo: kallerna, CC BY-SA 3.0, resized and cropped, via Wikimedia Commons.

Facts at a glance

ItemDetail
Issuing bodyRegistro Central de Penados, Ministerio de Justicia
CertificateCertificado de antecedentes penales. Madrid takes DTV applications only from Spanish or Andorran nationals or permanent residents, and may ask for certificates from other countries where you lived.
How to orderApply online at sede.mjusticia.gob.es with Cl@ve or a digital certificate. Pay the fee through the tax agency (AEAT) gateway.
FeeEUR 3.86 (tasa 006). Check the amount on screen when you pay.
TimeUsually 24 hours, in general up to 3 working days. The legal limit is 10 working days. For EU nationals Spain also checks the home register (ECRIS), which can take longer.
ApostilleThe Spanish site tells you to tick the apostille option for use abroad. The Madrid page does not ask for an apostille. Ask Madrid first if you can.
TranslationThe certificate is in Spanish. The Madrid page does not say whether it wants an English translation. Ask the Embassy.
Thai embassy limitMost embassies accept 3 to 6 months; get it as close to your application as you can.

Madrid adds one rule that we did not find at other posts: the embassy may ask for certificates from other countries where you lived.

Facts at a glance

ItemWhat we knowSource
Who can applySpanish or Andorran nationals, or permanent residents of Spain or AndorraMadrid, 22 Sep 2026
CertificateFrom your country of nationality, or from Spain or AndorraMadrid
ExtraThe embassy may ask for certificates from other countries where you livedMadrid
Age limitNot statedMadrid
Spanish issuerRegistro Central de Penados, Ministerio de JusticiaMinisterio de Justicia
HowOnline with Cl@ve or a digital certificateMinisterio de Justicia
TimeUsually 24 hours; in general up to 3 working days; legal limit 10 working daysMinisterio de Justicia
EU nationalsSpain also checks your home register (ECRIS), which can take longerMinisterio de Justicia
DTV feeEUR 350Madrid fee notice effective 15 Jul 2024

The "other countries" clause

If you moved to Spain recently, Madrid may ask for the certificate of the country where you lived before. Order it early, because it comes from a different issuer with its own processing time, and it may need a translation.

Other Madrid rules to match

ItemMadrid rule
PhotoFace uncovered, taken in the last 6 months. Photo booth ID photos are not accepted
PassportValid for more than 6 months
Funds500,000 THB: bank statement or balance certificate, or a sponsorship letter

How to order the Spanish certificate, step by step

  1. Prepare your other documents first, including any certificate from an earlier country of residence.
  2. Open sede.mjusticia.gob.es and log in with Cl@ve or a digital certificate.
  3. Request the certificado de antecedentes penales.
  4. Decide on the apostille option. The site says to tick it for use abroad. Madrid does not ask for one, so ask Madrid first if you can.
  5. Pay the fee (tasa 006) online through the tax agency (AEAT) gateway. Check the amount on screen.
  6. Download the certificate, usually after 24 hours.
  7. Submit the DTV on thaievisa.go.th within 3 months of the issue date.

Timeline plan

Madrid states no age limit. Submit within 3 months of the issue date to stay inside the strictest limit we found at other Thai posts. See the age limits by embassy.

WhenWhat to do
Weeks ahead, if you lived elsewhere recentlyOrder the certificate from your earlier country
1 week before you submitRequest the Spanish certificate online
Within 3 months of issueUpload the file and pay the fee on thaievisa.go.th

Costs to plan for

ItemAmountSourceStatus
Spanish certificate (tasa 006)EUR 3.86Ministry notice "new fee from 1 Jan 2022"Official, but from 2022. Check on screen
DTV at MadridEUR 350Madrid fee notice effective 15 Jul 2024Official, but from 2024. Check the e-Visa system
Translation, if neededSet by the translatorNoneAsk Madrid

Translation and apostille

The certificate is in Spanish. Madrid's page does not state a translation rule. Spain's site tells you to tick the apostille option for use abroad, but Madrid's page does not ask for an apostille. Thailand joins the Apostille Convention on 28 February 2027, so a Spanish apostille may not be enough for use in Thailand before that date. The general rules are on the police clearance hub.

Common mistakes

Before you apply

  1. You are a Spanish or Andorran national or a permanent resident of Spain or Andorra.
  2. Your certificate is from your nationality country or from Spain or Andorra, and is less than 3 months old.
  3. You have the certificate from an earlier country of residence, if you moved recently.
  4. Your photo is not a booth ID photo, and your passport is valid for more than 6 months.
  5. You checked the current DTV fee in the e-Visa system.

Want a second look at the whole file? Use the DTV pre-check. The embassy makes the decision.

Not confirmed yet

No official page we read states these points. Ask your embassy before you pay or submit.

  • Whether Madrid wants an English translation of a Spanish certificate.
  • The maximum certificate age at Madrid.
  • Whether the 2022 fee and the 2024 DTV fee are still current.

Frequently asked questions

Who can apply for the DTV at the Thai embassy in Madrid?

Spanish or Andorran nationals, or permanent residents of Spain or Andorra.

Which certificate does Madrid want?

A certificate from your country of nationality, or from Spain or Andorra. The embassy may also ask for certificates from other countries where you lived.

How fast is the Spanish certificate?

Usually 24 hours online. In general up to 3 working days, with a legal limit of 10 working days. EU nationals can wait longer.

Should I tick the apostille option?

Spain's site recommends it for use abroad. Madrid does not ask for an apostille. Ask Madrid first.

How old can the certificate be?

Madrid states no limit. Submit within 3 months to be safe.

Sources

  1. madrid.thaiembassy.org/en/publicservice/dtv (read 22 Oct 2026)page updated 22 Sep 2026 (Spanish text): applicants must be Spanish or Andorran nationals or permanent residents; criminal record certificate from nationality country or Spain/Andorra; embassy may ask for certificates from other countries of residence; no ID-booth photos; passport valid over 6 months; funds 500,000 THB or sponsor letter. No age limit stated.
  2. madrid.thaiembassy.org/en/publicservice/annoucement-consular-service-fees-15-july-2024 (read 22 Oct 2026)DTV fee EUR 350 (notice effective 15 Jul 2024, page edited 11 Dec 2024)
  3. sede.mjusticia.gob.es/tramites/certificado-antecedentes (read 22 Oct 2026)online request with Cl@ve or certificate; fee paid through the AEAT gateway; usually available after 24 hours, in general not over 3 working days; legal limit 10 working days; EU nationals also checked via ECRIS; for use abroad choose the apostille option
  4. mjusticia.gob.es/en/atencion-ciudadano/avisos-centro-atencion/nueva-tasa-desde-enero-2015 (read 22 Oct 2026)fee for criminal record certificates EUR 3.86 (notice 'new fee from 1 Jan 2022')
  5. hcch.net/en/news-archive/details/ (read 22 Oct 2026)Apostille Convention in force for Thailand 28 Feb 2027

Reviewed by the Thai Visa Pre-Check team

We check documents; we are not a law firm and not the Thai government. We read each embassy page named in the sources on the date shown.

We sell a document check. We do not apply for you, and only the embassy decides your visa.

Last checked
First published
How we check our guides

What changed

  1. first published. Put Madrid's "other countries" clause first, added a step-by-step plan and a cost table. The police clearance hub now states the same clause.

Found an error? Write to support@tdac.info.