Skip to content
Thai Visa Pre-CheckDocuments checked before you apply
Start check

Documents guide

What changed for DTV documents on 31 August 2026

Since 00:00 Thai time on 31 August 2026, DTV applicants must upload proof of permanent residence in the country where they apply, instead of the old "document indicating current location", and a new certificate of criminal record clearance. Applications submitted and paid in the e-Visa system before 31 August 2026 are still judged under the old rules.

Checked on · Reviewed by the Thai Visa Pre-Check team · How we check

Curved glass roof and moving walkway in a Suvarnabhumi Airport terminal in Bangkok
A moving walkway under the curved glass roof of Suvarnabhumi Airport. Photo: Supanut Arunoprayote, CC BY 4.0, resized and cropped, via Wikimedia Commons.

The two changes

Before 31 Aug 2026From 31 Aug 2026
Document indicating current location (e.g. a driving licence, bank statement or proof of stay)Proof of permanent residence in the country where you apply
No police checkCertificate of criminal record clearance, from your country of nationality or the country where you apply

The Department of Consular Affairs (MFA) published the announcement on 28 August 2026. The original on the MFA site is published as two images, and embassy pages such as Moscow repeat its text. The e-Visa system was offline from 00:00 on 30 August to 00:00 on 31 August 2026 (Tel Aviv embassy). The announcement does not set an age limit for the certificate. Everything else stays: passport, photo, 500,000 THB funds, and the purpose documents.

Who it affects

Not affected: applications submitted with payment before 31 August 2026. The announcements we read say nothing about DTVs already issued.

How embassies apply the new rules

The wording is the same worldwide, but details differ:

EmbassyResidence proof examplesPolice certificate age
London[5]Proof of permanent residence in UK, Ireland or Overseas Territories (ILR, Irish long-term residency)Within 6 months of submission
Washington DC[6]Valid US visa, permanent resident cardFBI certificate within 3 months
Los Angeles[7]Valid driving licence, valid US visa, permanent resident cardFBI certificate within 3 months
Paris[11]Latest tax returnCasier judiciaire under 3 months
Rome[8]Document proving residency status in Italy, Cyprus, Albania or LibyaNot stated
MadridSpanish/Andorran national or permanent residentNot stated
Vientiane[10]Lao national or permanent resident of LaosNot stated
OsakaPermanent residence in the country or territory of applicationNot stated

The central announcement sets no age limit. Each post decides. See police clearance.

How to comply, step by step

  1. Pick the right embassy. Use the one covering your nationality or your permanent residence. See which embassy.
  2. Get the residence proof first. It decides which embassy you use. See proof of residence.
  3. Order the police certificate last, so it is still fresh when you submit. Check your embassy's age limit.
  4. Translate. Washington DC asks for certified English translations, notarised by an embassy or ministry, for documents issued outside the US and Thailand.
  5. Upload clear PDFs and pay on thaievisa.go.th.

Fees are non-refundable at the embassies that say so (for example Singapore and Warsaw), so check the file before you pay.

Before you apply

  1. Your application is dated on or after 31 August 2026, so the new rules apply.
  2. Your residence proof is for the country of the post, and it is a permanent status where the post asks for one.
  3. Your police certificate is from your nationality country or the application country, and within the post's age limit.
  4. Documents not in English have a certified translation, if your post asks.
  5. You read your post's page dated after 31 August 2026.

A DTV pre-check can catch an old certificate or the wrong residence proof before you pay.

Not confirmed yet

No official page we read states these points. Ask your embassy before you pay or submit.

  • Whether DTV holders need a police certificate to extend their stay at Thai immigration.
  • Whether the Ho Chi Minh City page, which accepts a temporary residence card, reflects the new rule.
  • Whether any post will require legalisation of the police certificate.

Frequently asked questions

What changed for the DTV on 31 August 2026?

Proof of permanent residence in the country where you apply replaced the "document indicating current location", and a certificate of criminal record clearance was added.

I paid on 29 August. Do I need a police certificate?

Tel Aviv, Vientiane and Moscow say applications submitted with payment before 31 August follow the previous requirements. The e-Visa system was closed from 00:00 on 30 August to 00:00 on 31 August 2026.

Can I use a police certificate from a third country?

The rule names your country of nationality or your country of permanent residence. Madrid says it may also ask for certificates from other countries where you lived. Ask your embassy if you lived abroad.

Is a temporary residence permit enough?

It depends on the embassy. London names permanent statuses only. Rome asks for a document proving residency status. Ask the embassy before you pay if your permit is fixed-term.

Is there an apostille requirement?

No DTV page we read asks for an apostille. Thailand joins the Apostille Convention on 28 February 2027. See police clearance.

Does the change affect DTVs already issued?

The announcements we read say nothing about DTVs already issued.

Sources

  1. moscow.thaiembassy.org/en/publicservice/adjustment-to-supporting-documents-for-destination-thailand-visa-dtv-a (read 22 Oct 2026)DCA announcement 28 Aug 2026; effective 00:00 31 Aug 2026 Thai time; current-location document replaced by proof of permanent residence; criminal record certificate added; earlier applications follow old rules; no age limit in the announcement
  2. consular.mfa.go.th/th/content/28-8-69-00 (read 22 Oct 2026)original DCA announcement of 28 Aug 2026; published as two images
  3. telaviv.thaiembassy.org/en/content/adjustment-of-supporting-documents-for-destination (read 22 Oct 2026)e-Visa system unavailable from 00:00 30 Aug 2026 to 00:00 31 Aug 2026; applications submitted with payment before 31 Aug follow previous requirements
  4. osaka.thaiembassy.org/en/content/announcement-updated-requirements-dtv (read 22 Oct 2026)residence proof in the country/territory of application; certificate from country/territory of nationality or permanent residence; no age limit stated
  5. london.thaiembassy.org/en/content/adjustment-of-supporting-docdtv (read 22 Oct 2026)London: residence proof in UK, Ireland or Overseas Territories (ILR, Irish long-term residency as examples); police certificate within 6 months of submission
  6. washingtondc.thaiembassy.org/en/page/dtv-visa (read 22 Oct 2026)Washington DC: valid US visa or permanent resident card; FBI certificate within 3 months; page dated 10 Sep 2026
  7. thaiconsulatela.thaiembassy.org/en/page/visa-information (read 22 Oct 2026)Los Angeles: valid driving licence, valid US visa or permanent resident card; FBI certificate within 3 months; page dated 31 Aug 2026
  8. rome.thaiembassy.org/en/content/adjustment-of-supporting-documents-for-dtv-applica (read 22 Oct 2026)Rome: document proving residency status in Italy, Cyprus, Albania or Libya; criminal record certificate; no age stated
  9. madrid.thaiembassy.org/en/publicservice/dtv (read 22 Oct 2026)Madrid (page updated 22 Sep 2026): Spanish/Andorran nationals or permanent residents; certificate from country of nationality or Spain/Andorra; may ask for certificates from other countries of residence
  10. vientiane.thaiembassy.org/en/publicservice/applying-for-a-visa (read 22 Oct 2026)Vientiane: Lao nationals or permanent residents only; certificate from Laos or country of nationality; requirements apply worldwide from 31 Aug 2026
  11. thaiembassy.fr/fr/visa-rdv/les-types-de-visa-et-les-documents-necessaires/dtv/ (read 22 Oct 2026)Paris: latest tax return; casier judiciaire under 3 months
  12. fukuoka.thaiembassy.org/en/page/endtvvisa (read 22 Oct 2026)Fukuoka: letter from issuing authority accepted if certificate unobtainable because of an age limit; juminhyo for Japanese
  13. hochiminh.thaiembassy.org/en/page/destination-thailand-visa-dtv-th%E1%BB%8B-th%E1%BB%B1c-%C4%91i%E1%BB%83m-%C4%91%E1%BA%BFn-th (read 22 Oct 2026)Ho Chi Minh City: temporary or permanent residence card accepted for foreigners; page has no recent date (may predate the change)

Reviewed by the Thai Visa Pre-Check team

We check documents; we are not a law firm and not the Thai government. We read each embassy page named in the sources on the date shown.

We sell a document check. We do not apply for you, and only the embassy decides your visa.

Last checked
First published
How we check our guides

What changed

  1. first published. Added a "Before you apply" checklist, six questions and this list of open points. Links point to the new guide structure.

Found an error? Write to support@tdac.info.