What embassies ask for
| Embassy | Amount stated | Period | Extra conditions |
|---|---|---|---|
| Washington DC | 500,000 THB or USD 16,000 | Last 3 months; ending balance of at least this amount | Saving or checking account statements |
| London | GBP 12,000 (500,000 THB) | Not stated | For example bank statements, or a sponsorship letter |
| Paris | EUR 15,000 per month | Last 3 months | Official bank statements; credit balance, not blocked |
| Madrid | 500,000 THB | Not stated | Deposit in a bank account, or a sponsorship letter |
| Oslo | 500,000 THB | Last 3 months | Ending balance shown on bank statements |
| Singapore | 500,000 THB (about SGD 20,000) | Last 3 months | Only Singapore and Thai bank accounts; no investment or CPF accounts |
| Fukuoka | 500,000 THB in each month | Last 3 months | Statement issued within one month |
| Ho Chi Minh City | 500,000 THB | Not stated | Bank statements or sponsorship letter; page has no recent date |
Where an embassy states a local figure (USD, GBP, EUR, SGD), meet that figure. Do not rely on today's exchange rate.
How a 3-month check works
Several posts look at the balance over the whole period, not only on the last day. This example is for Paris, which writes EUR 15,000 per month. The figures are made up.
| Month (example) | Lowest balance | Meets Paris? |
|---|---|---|
| Month 1 | EUR 16,200 | Yes |
| Month 2 | EUR 14,800 | No, below EUR 15,000 |
| Month 3 | EUR 18,000 | Yes |
One weak month is enough to fail a "per month" rule. Keep a margin in every month.
Recency and format
- Cover the full last 3 months if your embassy says so (Washington DC, Paris, Oslo, Singapore, Fukuoka).
- Fukuoka wants the statement issued within one month.
- Use an official PDF from your bank. Make sure every page is clear and readable.
- Show your name, the account number and the dates on each page.
Sponsorship letters
London, Madrid, Ho Chi Minh City and the e-Visa list mention a sponsorship letter as an option. Paris allows a guarantor only for minors or for people who accompany a DTV holder. For spouses and children (DTV family), the sponsor is normally the main DTV holder: include the holder's statement and proof of relationship.
What does not work
- A balance that appears only just before you download the statement. Several embassies look at each of the 3 months.
- Blocked or pledged funds. Paris asks for a balance that is not blocked.
- Accounts that an embassy refuses, such as investment or CPF accounts in Singapore, or foreign banks at Singapore.
- Funds that are not yours or a sponsor's. Never borrow money to show on a statement. False documents can lead to refusal.
Before you apply
- You know the figure and the period your embassy uses.
- You downloaded 3 months of official statements, and every month meets the figure.
- Name, dates and balances are visible on every page.
- For a sponsor, you added a signed letter, the sponsor's statement and proof of relationship.
- A statement in another language has a translation your embassy accepts.
Want a second check of the statements against your embassy's rule before you pay? Use the DTV pre-check. We do not apply for you and cannot promise a result.
Not confirmed yet
No official page we read states these points. Ask your embassy before you pay or submit.
- Which exchange rate or date officers use where no local figure is published. Keep a margin above the minimum.
- The funds rule at Warsaw, Canberra, Ottawa and several other posts.
- Whether a joint account, or a spouse's or parent's account, counts. A joint account with a non-family member is a higher risk.
- Who may act as a sponsor outside the family category.
Frequently asked questions
How much money do I need for the DTV?
500,000 THB or the equivalent. Washington DC states USD 16,000, London GBP 12,000, Paris EUR 15,000 per month, and Singapore about SGD 20,000.
How many months of bank statements do I need?
The last 3 months at Washington DC, Paris, Oslo, Singapore and Fukuoka. London and Madrid do not state a period.
Does the balance have to stay above the figure every month?
Paris and Fukuoka write a figure per month. Washington DC and Oslo write an ending balance. Keeping the figure in every month meets both.
Can someone sponsor me?
London, Madrid and Ho Chi Minh City mention a sponsorship letter. Paris allows a guarantor only for minors or accompanying applicants.
Which accounts does Singapore refuse?
Singapore accepts only Singapore and Thai bank accounts, and does not accept investment or CPF accounts.
Sources
- washingtondc.thaiembassy.org/en/page/dtv-visa (read 22 Oct 2026)recent saving or checking statements for the last three months, ending balance no less than 500,000 THB or 16,000 USD; page dated 10 Sep 2026
- london.thaiembassy.org/en/page/destination-thailand-visa (read 22 Oct 2026)financial evidence no less than GBP 12,000 (500,000 THB), e.g. bank statements, or sponsorship letter; page dated 8 Sep 2026
- thaiembassy.fr/fr/visa-rdv/les-types-de-visa-et-les-documents-necessaires/dtv/ (read 22 Oct 2026)minimum EUR 15,000 per month, not blocked, last 3 months, official bank statements; guarantor only for minors or accompanying applicants
- madrid.thaiembassy.org/en/publicservice/dtv (read 22 Oct 2026)deposit of 500,000 THB or more in a bank account, or a sponsorship letter
- oslo.thaiembassy.org/en/page/dtv (read 22 Oct 2026)ending balance of at least 500,000 THB over the past three months; page dated 15 Sep 2026
- singapore.thaiembassy.org/en/page/dtv-visa-workcation (read 22 Oct 2026)balance at least 500,000 THB (about 20,000 SGD) for the past 3 months; only Singapore and Thailand bank accounts; investment and CPF accounts not accepted; page dated 7 Sep 2026
- fukuoka.thaiembassy.org/en/page/endtvvisa (read 22 Oct 2026)transaction statement issued within one month, minimum balance 500,000 THB per month for the last three months; page dated 7 Sep 2026
- hochiminh.thaiembassy.org/en/page/destination-thailand-visa-dtv-th%E1%BB%8B-th%E1%BB%B1c-%C4%91i%E1%BB%83m-%C4%91%E1%BA%BFn-th (read 22 Oct 2026)no less than 500,000 THB, e.g. bank statements, sponsorship letter; page has no recent date
Reviewed by the Thai Visa Pre-Check team
We check documents; we are not a law firm and not the Thai government. We read each embassy page named in the sources on the date shown.
We sell a document check. We do not apply for you, and only the embassy decides your visa.
- Last checked
- First published
What changed
- first published. Grouped four open points into one list, added a worked 3-month example and the Madrid sponsor option.
Found an error? Write to support@tdac.info.
